Christmas in Illinois

we were able to spend christmas in illinois with my side of the  family. it was a week full of family and good eats. vacation always go too fast. some pics from our midwest adventure:

sunrise in eastern montana as we ventured toward illinois

sunrise in eastern montana as we ventured toward illinois

my awesome drove the entire way, there AND back. my excuse? spur the moment hand surgery and pain meds that said "don't drive." he rocked the drive.

my awesome husband drove the entire way, there AND back. my excuse? spur the moment hand surgery and pain meds that said “don’t drive.” he rocked the drive.

we made it to illinois! i got hair help from my sisters and niece, and even randy!

we made it to illinois! i got hair help from my sisters and niece, and even randy!

i had said i would make scones for chrismtas. randy had to make them instead because i was one handed. they were delicious (huckleberry).

i had said i would make scones for christmas. randy had to make them instead because i was one handed. they were delicious (huckleberry).

snuggling with jack on the couch - my first dog.

snuggling with jack on the couch – my first dog.

ruth plays the piano with uncle randy. i think they were playing "joy to the world."

ruth plays the piano with uncle randy. i think they were playing “joy to the world.”

one handed niece snuggles

one handed niece snuggles

ruth liked to feed jack some "grandma's mix" (my mom's tasty homemade chex mix)

ruth liked to feed jack some “grandma’s mix” (my mom’s tasty homemade chex mix)

ruth enjoys a countertop view

ruth enjoys a countertop view

baby elyse and uncle randy. how cute are they?!

baby elyse and uncle randy. how cute are they?!

beer tasting at a new local brwery

beer tasting at a new local brewery

back on montana soil, but still 11 hours until our house...this is truly BIG sky country.

back on montana soil, but still 11 hours until our house…this is truly BIG sky country.

didn’t really take all that many pictures. i blame my bulky club of a cast. thankful for time with family and hoping that a montana vacation works out in 2014!

