snow joke half marathon

yesterday was the snow joke half marathon. for a february road race in montana, the weather was beautiful. there were no posts about training for this half marathon because, well, i only sort of trained. it’s not a great habit that i’ve developed (only half training for half marathons). i love running and i think it used to be one of my main ways to enjoy the outdoors. but over the past decade i’ve also grown to love hiking, camping, fishing, hunting and more, so running has taken a back seat of sorts in my outdoor activities. i still dream of running an ultra marathon some day, but that would certainly require proper training, not to mention it would be a huge time commitment.

an extended family member convinced me that signing up for the snow joke half marathon was a good idea and i somehow convinced one of my friends to do it, too. we did a few longer runs together on the weekends so we didn’t run it complete cold turkey. i’m glad i did it but i’m also glad it’s over.

nikki (my sister in law) and i head to the starting line. we were both filling a bit ill prepared but were glad to be running it together.

nikki (my sister in law) and i head to the starting line. we were both feeling a bit ill prepared but were glad to be running it together.

about 50 yards in to the race and still enjoying it! yes, that's me pumping my fist. lara is in the blue and nikki is in the grey jacket next to me.

about 50 yards in to the race and still enjoying it! yes, that’s me pumping my fist. lara is in the blue and nikki is in the grey jacket next to me.

classic MT winter race: snow, dog, back roads. that's me in all black, no idea why i didn't have something more colorful on.

classic MT winter race: snow, dog, back roads. that’s me in all black, no idea why i didn’t have something more colorful on.

despite the lack of evidence, we all finished. thankful to have had a sister in law, second cousin and friend who ran the race, and my husband to cheer us on!

i don’t plan to register for any other races in the near future. i may run the lolo pass half marathon again in june because it’s a beautiful course. if you’ve considered doing a half marathon but haven’t, i highly recommend it. it’s a very do-able distance and yet a fun challenge. i like the atmosphere of road races and the guilt free food that i typically enjoy afterwards 🙂

