better, not better, sorta better.

a little over a week ago i was sick and randy was doing most of the cooking. then last weekend i went on a baking binge as i began to feel better; we have one final loaf of “farmhouse” bread to enjoy.

i really thought that i was on the mend until late wednesday morning when my ear began to hurt. i was ending my morning of teaching pre-school so i didn’t have time to give it much thought. it began to hurt more on my quick lunch break and as i headed to nanny it hurt more. and then it hurt more. and more. my head was so full and by the time i picked the girls up from school i was a bit dizzy. i had taken ibuprofen but it didn’t seem to take any edge off the pain. i’d like to think that i have a fairly high tolerance for pain but i was quickly feeling like a wuss. i really wanted to cry. when my boss came home at 4:30 pm i did just that (cry). my ear hurt so bad and pain was radiating throughout it.  i had never experience ear pain like that.

the brief conclusion is that shortly after my boss came home my ear drum ruptured (aka: your ear begins to drain blood). note to self: if you ear feels like it is going to explode, it just may. the pain began to decrease but 4 days later and my ear is still full. the doctor says that is normal and i’m on antibiotics. apparently i’ve probably had an ear infection this whole time and finally my ear had enough. second note to self: if your eardrum ruptures, having it happen while you’re working for two doctors is the way to go. my boss was great and got me all taken care of.i’m very thankful for that.

so basically i haven’t been that much better and randy has done more cooking. he made a tasty butternut squash curry soup and tonight he made us some delicious venison nachos.

this picture doesn't show all the ingredients but he used venison sausage, kale, avocado, greek yogurt, cheese, spanish rice (leftovers) and black beans. i haven't had nachos in forever and these were delicious!

this picture doesn’t show all the ingredients but he used venison sausage, kale, avocado, greek yogurt, cheese, spanish rice (leftovers) and black beans. i haven’t had nachos in forever and these were delicious!

too often i take health for granted. in the grand scheme of things, a ruptured ear drum is not that big of a deal. i currently can’t hear much out of my left ear and it makes me appreciate my usual good hearing. this past week made me thankful for a boss who genuinely cares about me, a husband who will pick up my slack around the house when i’m not feeling up to par and a mom who knows how to show/say she is thinking of me even if we live thousands of miles apart.

